top of page

Week 8: 2nd Week of The Job + New Tasks for the 'Internship' (10/8 ---- 10/14)

Hello once again! As mentioned in the previous blog, week 6, which could have been a setback, ended up being quite the opposite, as it allow me to realistically and diligently accomplish the daily tasks I had to do in order to meet my eventual goal of uploading my first ever Knights Historycast episode which featured Holly Baker (go check it out!). This week was no different with uploading my second official episode of Knights Historycast featuring Dr. Noll.


Tuesday, 10/11/2022

  • emailed Holly regarding who in the history department marketed new episodes of KHC and FHQ.

Wednesday, 10/12/2022

  • Had a critical meeting with Dr. French over Zoom at 1 pm, to discuss the progress I have made with the job and several updates I need to tell him. These updates were primarily about how to market the podcasts more broadly, our plans for the upcoming FHS symposium, etc. In this meeting, we gave each other new tasks, including me to write him a one-page report stating my case as to why I think we should add the podcasts onto the major streaming platforms. He told me this paper would be part of as an internship assignment.

  • Once the meeting was done, I began reading one out of the three Florida Historical Quarterly journal articles that Dr. Lester assigned to me from the week before. I read and annotated this one article.

  • Emailed Holly regarding FHQ podcast inquiry.

  • Clocked in my hours for the day.

Thursday, 10/13/2022

  • Begun editing Dr. Noll interview for KHC format.

  • Clocked in my hours for the day.

Friday, 10/14/2022

  • Continued editing Dr. Noll interview.

  • After editing phase was completed, I started to record my intro and outro pieces for the episode.

  • Stitched all that together (including the intro and outro music) and listened to that final product one more time before beginning S.T.A.R.S upload and publication process.

  • Uploaded and published it onto S.T.A.R.S and notified Dr. Noll of this.

  • Clocked in my hours for the day.


My focus now shifts on researching Dr. Beatty's book as that interview will be coming up in approximately 2 weeks. Also, completing the tasks that Dr. French and I set for each other during that Wednesday meeting is a priority for me moving forward------especially the new internship tasks of writing my case for broadly market these podcasts. FHQ Podcast is another priority for me moving forward, with the hopes of publishing my first episode of that this Friday (best-case scenario).


In terms of the How--To--Guidebook, I put a hold on that primarily because the parts that I need to do to finish the book would best benefit if I gain some real, hands-on experience with these podcasts. Yeah, I can just go off my experience with making two Florida Frontiers podcasts, however these podcasts (KHC and FHQ)-----despite having miniscule alterations in the broader general process of history podcasting-making----ultimately have significant differences when producing them in real-time. Therefore, I think it is best if I gain as much experience as I can before the internship training ends (December) before writing and finishing that part of the guidebook, because at the end of the day I am still learning as well, and I want to write the best possible guidebook as possible.


SG

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15: The Final Week (11/26 ---- 12/3)

Despite the dates in the parenthesis of the title, there were some developments that happened in the days prior to 11/26, however, did not get mentioned in a "Week 14" blog because of Thanksgiving bre

bottom of page