top of page

Week 6: Hurricane Ian (9/24 ----- 9/30)

Hello again! It has been about 3 weeks since I written a blog and several reasons can be attributed to this. As the title of this blog indicates, the first and foremost reason for the delay of these blogs was because of the hurricane. Luckily for me, the hurricane did not do too much damaged, compared to some of the awful and saddening videos I saw of others, and I hope now everyone has recovered from the formidable storm that was Ian. Secondly, once the hurricane past I was able to come out the gates swinging with my job of producing history podcasts for Knights Historycast and The Florida Historical Quarterly Podcast because of what I did during this week (as I will explain the following paragraph).


I was able to get some work done during the hurricane and the subsequent closure of classes by UCF. This work was primarily what I like to call "house--cleaning" tasks-----things that seem minuscule, but have a grand effect in how smoothly my life will run in the upcoming weeks. Essentially, I was trying to organize myself as best as possible, that way when the closure ended and all operations go back to normal, I can come out of the gates swinging. This was highly crucial for me, especially since my first day of the job was October 1st-----in the midst of the hurricane closures. I did not want that start behind already in my first day/week, so these organizational tasks were important to me. Some of the organizational/"house--cleaning" tasks I did were setting up dates throughout the next 3 weeks of tasks I need to do to fulfill my goal of publishing episodes every Friday. These tasks included everything that involves the how to make these history podcasts (researching, creating relevant and significant questions, interviewing, editing, narrating, uploading, publishing, etc.) and other personal things to make sure I am being discipline and honest with myself. Also, I emailed several people from

  • Holly (to set up my first ever Knights Historycast interview/episode featuring her), to

  • Sira (to figure out how the Workday system works) to

  • Dr. Beatty (to set up my following podcast interview for Knights Historycast) to

  • Dr. Lester (to finally meet her and discuss the expectations and timeline for the FHQ Podcast publication) to

  • Dr. French (to have another meeting with him to discuss updates-----this did not happen until later in the following weeks).

Writing this 3 weeks later, I can say that I am so relieved that I did during this forced "break" week. I believe that everything that I have been able to accomplish with the job (you'll see in the following blogs) as been possible because of what I did during this week. See you in those blogs!


SG



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 15: The Final Week (11/26 ---- 12/3)

Despite the dates in the parenthesis of the title, there were some developments that happened in the days prior to 11/26, however, did not get mentioned in a "Week 14" blog because of Thanksgiving bre

bottom of page